Why should you be concerned about underage drinking?

Parents should talk about alcohol and drinking with their high school seniors long before they leave for college. Research has found that teens whose parents talked with them about avoiding alcohol before they begin college are more likely to not use or limit alcohol.

Alcohol Poisoning

You can overdose on alcohol. A person with blood alcohol level of .08 is considered legally intoxicated, and any more in the system can lead to alcohol poisoning and even death.

Brain Development

Research shows that drinking alcohol before age 21 can interfere with brain development, causing potential learning impediments well into the early 20s.

Violence and Crime

Ninety five percent of violent crimes on college campuses are alcohol-related.

Sexual Assault and Rape

More than 97,000 students between the ages of 18 and 24 are victims of alcohol related sexual assault or date rape. The majority of college rapes (90 percent) involve alcohol use by either the victim or the assailant.

Academic Consequences

Alcohol use among students is associated with poor grades, absenteeism and higher rates of school dropout.

21 - It's the LAW

In New York state if you are under the age of 21, it is a violation of the law to possess alcohol with the intent to consume. Youth under 21 who drink and drive can lose their licenses for up to one year for small amounts of alcohol and face jail time for larger amounts of alcohol found in their systems.

Parent Toolkit

Useful tips and tools to support your conversation regarding alcohol and your children
 

 
 

 

Find Help: 1-877-8-HOPENY

Call 1-877-846-7369 or text HOPENY, the New York State HopeLine, offering hope 24 hours a day, 365 days a year for alcoholism, drug abuse, and problem gambling. All calls/texts are toll-free, anonymous, and confidential.